Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Meet PLACE Leaders

The PLACE Committee is open to all faculty who wish to participate.  It is led by Dr. Corrine Hinton, Program Chair; Dr. Michael Perri, Program Coordinator; Dr. Sara Lawrence, Recorder; and Dr. James Nguyen, Budget Committee Chair.


Dr. Corrine Hinton, Program Chair

Dr. Corrine Hinton is in her second year as Assistant Professor of English at Texas A&M University Texarkana where she teaches courses in first-year composition, advanced composition for educators, and technical writing. Her research interests include rhetoric, composition pedagogy, the student-veteran transitional experience, writing in the workplace, writing center studies, and writing program administration. Prior to joining TAMUT, Hinton directed learning and writing centers at several institutions; most recently, she served as the Director of the Learning Enhancement Center at the University of La Verne in southern California. In addition to PLACE, Hinton is involved with the First Year Experience Steering Committee, the Foundations of Excellence initiative, the Institutional Review Board, and the Student Veterans Association. She has been working with and for first-year students since she began teaching college in 2005 and loves the energy and enthusiasm all new students bring with them to campus.   


Dr. Michael Perri, Program Coordinator

Michael Perri is an Associate Professor of History who specializes in colonial Latin America.  He also enjoys teaching United States’ history and working with PLACE to create a community of learners.  His hobbies include coaching his daughter’s soccer team.


Dr. Sara Lawrence, Recorder


Dr. James Nguyen, Budget Committee Chair

  • 7101 University Ave
  • Texarkana, TX 75503
  • p: 903.223.3000
  • f: 903.223.3104
.Back to Top