Summer 2011 Class Schedule


Summer I (3 week)          June 6 – June 24

Summer I (4 week)          June 6 – July 1

Summer I (5 week)          June 6 – July 11

Summer I (10 week)        June 6 – August 16

Summer II (4 week)        July 13 – August 10

Summer II (5 week)        July 13 – August 16

Statement of Equal Opportunity
It is the policy of A&M-Texarkana not to discriminate on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, disability, age, or veteran status in its academic programs, activities or employment practices. Inquiries regarding compliance may be directed to Mr. Jerry Henry, P.O. Box 5518, Texarkana, Texas 75505, telephone (903) 223-3012, or to the Director of the Office for Civil Rights, Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Washington, D.C., or the Texas Commission on Human Rights, Austin, Texas.

Statement of Sexual Harassment
Sexual harassment of students or employees at A&M-Texarkana is unacceptable and will not be tolerated. Guidelines governing the policy are available upon request from the Office of Student Engagement and Success for students, and the Office of Human Resources/EEO for employees.

A&M-Texarkana is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033, telephone (404) 676-4501.

Directory Information
In compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, A&M-Texarkana gives notice that the following directory information will be released upon request: student's name, address(permanent and local), telephone listing, A&M-Texarkana email address, photograph, date and place of birth, enrollment status (undergraduate, graduate, classification, etc.) major field of study, participation in officially recognized activities and sports, dates of attendance, degrees, certificates and awards received, type of award received, full or part-time status, and most recent previous educational agency or institution attended by the student.

Any student who objects to the release of all or any part of the directory information on file in his or her name must notify the Admissions Office in writing that he or she does not wish to have such information released. This request will be honored, and all of the information will be held confidential.

Students have the right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the university to comply with the requirements of FERPA. the name and address of the office that administers FERPA is Family Compliance Office, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20202-4605.

Class Changes
Classes are subject to change at any time. Any course may be withdrawn from the current listing if the enrollment is too small to justify conducting the course or as a result of a reduction in funding.

Room Assignments
Room assignments that appear on the confirmation of class enrollments that are received during registration are tentative. Students should always check the room listings that are posted throughout the building at the beginning of each semester for final classroom assignments.

Go to top of page



Please note registration dates and deadlines, tuition payment due dates, transcript deadlines and drop/withdrawal dates.

Summer I 2011 Term

Priority deadline for submitting Application for Admission and official transcripts for Summer I 2011 Term

April 15 (F)

Regular Registration for Summer I 2011 Term

June 1-June 3
(W, R, F)

8:30am–5:00pm on Friday

Last day to pay tuition for Pre-Registration and Regular Registration for Summer I 2011

June 3 (F)


First class day of Summer I 2011 Term (3, 4, 5 and 10 Weeks)

June 6 (M)

Late Registration ($25.00 late fee)
NOTE: Payment is due by close of business on the day you late register

June 6-7 (M, T)

Last day to drop a course without receiving a grade 3 week Summer I term

June 7 (T)

Last day to drop a course without receiving a grade 4 week Summer I term

June 8 (W)

Last day to drop a course without receiving a grade 5 week Summer I term

June 9 (R) 

Last day to drop a course without receiving a grade 10 week Summer I term

June 14 (T)

Last day to drop or withdraw from 3 week Summer I Term

June 17 (F)

Last day to drop or withdraw from 4 week Summer I Term

June 24 (F)

Last class day for 3 week Summer I 2011 Term

June 24 (F)

Last day to drop or withdraw from 5 week Summer I Term

July 1 (F)

Last class day for 4 week Summer I 2011 Term

July 1 (F)

Independence Day Holiday-University Closed

July 4 (M)

Last class day for 5 week Summer I 2011 Term

July 11 (M)

Final grades due for all 3, 4 and 5 week Summer I 2011 students

July 14 (R) 9:00am

Last day to apply for December 2011 Graduation

July 15 (F)

Last day to drop or withdraw from 10 week Summer I Term

August 9 (T)

Last class day for 10 week Summer I 2011 Term

August 16  (T)

Grades due for 10 week Summer I 2011 students

August 19 (F)

Summer II 2011 Term

Priority deadline for submitting Application for Admission and official transcripts for Summer II 2011 Term

April 15 (F)

Regular Registration for Summer II 2011 Term

July 11-12 (M, T)

Last day to pay tuition for Pre-Registration and Regular Registration for Summer II 2011

July 12 (T)


First class day of Summer II 2011 Term (4 & 5 week terms)

July 13 (W)

Late Registration ($25.00 late fee)
NOTE: Payment is due by close of business on the day you late register

July 13-14 (W, R)

Last day to apply for December 2011 Graduation

July 15 (F)

Last day to drop a course without receiving a grade 4 week Summer II term

July 15 (F)

Last day to drop a course without receiving a grade 5 week Summer II term

July 18 (M) 

Last day to drop or withdraw from 4 week Summer II Term

August 3 (W)

Last day to drop or withdraw from 5 week Summer II Term

August 9 (T)

Last class day for 4 week Summer II 2011 Term

August 10 (W)

Last class day for 5 and 10 week Summer II 2011 Term

August 16 (T)

Final grades due for all Summer II 2011 students and 10 week Summer I 2011 students

August 19 (F) 9:00am



A two-year schedule of course offerings has been placed on the A&M-Texarkana web site to assist students in planning their courses to be taken each semester. The two-year schedule will assist students in planning their courses so they may progress smoothly toward the completion of degree requirements. Click here to access the Two-Year-Schedule. Questions regarding these schedules should be directed to the Dean of the College in which the course is taught.

Go to top of page


Web for Students is a web based interface to our student information system.  Access Web for Students to view your Admission Status, Account Summary, Register for Classes, Financial Aid Inquiry, Grade Inquiry, Hold Inquiry, and to obtain transcripts

How to use Web for Students:

1. Access A&M-Texarkana's web site at
2. Select Current Students and click on Web for Students
3. Click on Enter Secure Area
4. Enter your User ID. The User ID has been provided to you in previous correspondence.
5. Enter PIN - The first time you access
Web for Students, it will be your date of birth (example - April 15, 1975 = 041575). You will be asked to change your PIN. Select another six-digit number that is not your date of birth.
6. If this is your first time to access Web For Students, you must set up a Pin Question and Answer.
7. Follow instructions on the screen to select your desired information.
8. To register for classes select "Registration" and Add or Drop Classes
9. To check grades, select "Student Records" and "Final Grades".

NOTE: To register for classes using Web for Students you will be required to enter the 5 digit call number (CRN) for the course. The CRN number is located before the section number in the course listing. Students may access Web for Students on any computer with internet connectivity. Students who do not have access to the web from home may use computers available in the library or access the web via a computer terminal available in the Admissions Office. Please be aware that once classes begin, students will not be allowed to withdraw from the university on Web for Students. Contact the Admissions Office if you wish to drop or withdraw.



A&M-Texarkana uses Blackboard web course management software that allows easy access to all of your web-based and web-enhanced courses, including a student orientation course designed to familiarize you with the basic course functions of the Blackboard tools.

Information about Blackboard, including information on
how to logon, may be found on the university home page ( Choose Current students (at the top of the page) and then Blackboard. When you are ready to access your course, please select Go to My Blackboard. Please note: Faculty may not give you access to WebCT until the first day of the term.


Students who attempt a course three or more times at A&M-Texarkana since Fall 2002 will be charged an additional $50.00 per credit hour for the repeated course. The bill you receive after you register may not accurately reflect the additional tuition and fees for the courses attempted three or more times. A&M-Texarkana reserves the right to adjust the student's tuition as a result of registering for the third or more time.

The following courses are exempt from this rule:

1.      Thesis or dissertation courses

2.      Courses that may be repeated for credit because they involve different or more advanced content each time the course is taken

3.      Independent Study courses

4.      Special Topics and Seminar courses

5.      Continuing education courses that must be repeated to retain professional certification


New undergraduate students enrolling in an institution of higher education in Fall 1999 or afterward are subject to the conditions of Senate Bill 345 passed in the 76th Legislative session. The law states that a resident undergraduate student whose attempted hours exceeds, by at least 45 semester credit hours, the number of hours required for completion of the degree program may be charged tuition at a higher rate. The higher rate will not exceed the rate charged to non-resident undergraduate students. A resident student is one who pays the in-state rate for tuition purposes. For students who enroll in college for the first time Fall 2006 or afterward, the excessive hours limit changes to 30 semester credit hours.


Under section 51.907 of the Texas Education Code, "an institution of higher education may not permit a student to drop more than six courses, including any course a transfer student has dropped at another institution of higher education." This statue was enacted by the State of Texas in spring 2007 and applied to students who enroll in a public institution of higher education as first-time freshmen in fall 2007 or later. Any course that a student drops is counted toward the six-drop limit if "(1) the student was able to drop the course without receiving a grade or incurring an academic penalty; (2) the student's transcript indicates or will indicate that the student was enrolled in the course; and (3) the student is not dropping the course in order to withdraw from the institution." Some exemptions for good cause could allow a student to drop a course without having it counted toward this limit, but it is the responsibility of the student to establish that good cause.

Contact the Office of Admissions for more information before you drop a course.

A&M University-Texarkana students affected by this statue that has attended or plans to attend another institution of higher education should become familiar with that institution's policies on dropping courses.

Go to top of page


Semester grades are posted to Web for Students at the end of the term.  They are NOT mailed. Students should log on to Web for Students to obtain grades (instructions are listed above). If you have any questions, please contact the Registrar's Office at (903)223-3069.



Students who have applied to graduate August  2011

April 18-19* 8:30am-5:00pm

Continuing students

April 20-21* 8:30am-5:00pm

Returning students (students returning to the same level - undergraduate or graduate)

April 22* 8:30am-5:00pm

New Graduate Students

April 22 1* 8:30am-5:00pm

New Undergraduate Students

May 2* 8:30am-5:00pm

*These are Pre-Registration begin dates. Registration continues until Regular Registration.
See Regular Registration dates listed in the semester calendar.



In order to register for summer classes, SOAR is REQUIRED for ALL new students.  Students must have been admitted to A&M-Texarkana and received notice of acceptance from the Office of Admissions before completing the online SOAR.  In your admission packet you will be instructed on how to complete SOAR online.  For additional information, please call (903)223-1350. 


First-Time Undergraduate
 A first-time undergraduate is a student who has no prior postsecondary experience at the undergraduate level or who has only earned college credits prior to graduation from high school.  A first-time undergraduate student must meet one of the following College Readiness Standards and one of the A&M-Texarkana Admissions Standards

College Readiness Standards:

1.   Successfully complete the recommended or advanced high school
      program or complete the portion of the program that was available to
      them; or
2.   Successfully complete a curriculum that is equivalent in content and        
      rigor to the recommended or advanced high school program at a high
      school that is exempt from offering  such programs; or
3.   Satisfy the College Readiness Benchmarks on the ACT or SAT
      a.         SAT – score a minimum of 1500 out of a possible 2400
      b.         ACT – score a minimum of 18 in English, 22 in Mathematics,
                  21 in Reading, and 24 in Science.

A&M-Texarkana Admissions Standards

            1.         Automatic Full Admissions
                        High School Class Rank                 top 25% or
                        ACT Composite Score                    20 or above or
                        SAT Score*                                     950 or above
                        *(Critical Reading and Math)

            2.         Full Admissions using High School GPA and Test Score
                        ACT Composite Score                    18-19 or
                        SAT Score*                                      870-940
                        *(Critical Reading and Math)

3.         Advised Admission
(students admitted under the Advised Admissions criteria will be required to complete and Advised Admissions Contract prior to enrolling)
ACT Composite Score                      17 or
SAT Score*                                       820-860
*(Critical Reading and Math)

Students who have completed college academic credit (excluding developmental courses) must submit official transcripts from each college and/or university previously attended prior to enrolling. 

Transfer Admissions
Students who have previously attended a regionally accredited institution after graduation from high school must apply as a transfer student.  Transfer students must have a minimum 2.0 GPA (on a 4.0 scale) on all transfer work attempted.

Graduate Admissions
Graduate students must provide official transcripts reflecting at least a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Please note: Admission to the university does not assure admission to graduate program for a degree. In order to be admitted to a master’s degree program, students must meet the graduate program admissions requirements by the end of the first semester of enrollment. See the Graduate Program Application available in the Graduate Office, room 363, for details in order to progress smoothly toward your degree. The application is also available on the university web page ( under Admissions. Consult the current General Catalog for complete information about degree requirements. (Graduate work offered by the university differs from undergraduate work in requiring you to demonstrate increased maturity in scholarship, seriousness of purpose and ability to do independent thinking.)

Adult Learners (special category)
A special category of admissions is available to adult learners not immediately interested in pursuing a degree but who wish to enroll to satisfy a career or personal goal. All students are required to meet the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) requirements. Those persons lacking a high school diploma or GED must request permission to enroll as an audit student.

How do I enroll?
The following list is provided to assist you in completing all the necessary requirements for admission to A&M-Texarkana. Please contact the Admissions Office at (903) 223-3068 or by e-mail at if you need additional information.

1.      Application
Priority application deadline for summer  2011 is April 15, 2011. Please note: Students with access to the internet are encouraged to complete their Admissions Application online. Please go to to complete an online application.

A.           All new students must complete and submit an enrollment application.

B.           A new application is required for former or continuing students if you have not enrolled within the past calendar year.

2.      Bacterial Meningitis Confirmation
At the time of submitting an initial application, students must submit confirmation of receiving information regarding Bacterial Meningitis. Information is available in the Admissions Office, or students may go to (
Important Information on Bacterial Meningitis),to submit confirmation online. NOTE: Students who complete their application online will document this requirement during the application process.

3.      Transcripts
Prior to registering
, official transcripts must be mailed directly to A&M-Texarkana from all previous colleges or universities.  Transcripts must be mailed from the college or university. Hand carried transcripts will not be accepted. It is your responsibility to request your transcripts as follows:
A.  All undergraduate students (degree seeking and non-degree seeking) must provide official transcripts from each college previously attended.
B.  Degree seeking graduate students must submit official transcripts showing all academic credit and grades (undergraduate and graduate). Transcripts must show possession of a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.
C.  Non-degree seeking graduate students must submit an official transcript from the last college attended and verification of at least a bachelor's degree.
D.  Official transcripts must be of file before an Admissions decision can be made.


4.  Texas Success Initiative (TSI)
Each institution of higher education must assess the academic skills of each entering undergraduate student to determine the student’s readiness to enroll in freshman-level academic coursework.  Student’s must be assessed in reading, writing and mathematics by one of the Coordinating Board approved assessment tests or meet one of the following exemptions:
A.  ACT: Composite score of 23 or higher with a minimum individual Math and/or English score of no less than 19. ACT scores can be no more than 5 years old. (Students meeting the composite and English scores will be exempt from both the Reading and Writing sections of TSI.)
SAT: Composite score of 1070 or higher with a minimum of 500 on the Math and/or Reading (former verbal) section. Residual SAT cannot be used for TSI exemption. SAT scores can be no more than five years old. (Students meeting the Composite and Reading scores will be exempt from both the Reading and Writing sections of TSI.)
Eleventh grade exit-level TAKS: A minimum score of 2200 or higher on the Math section and/or a minimum scale score of 2200 on the English Language Arts section with a writing subsection score of at least 3. (The English Language Arts section and written subsection must be met together. If only one area is met, students must take both the Reading and Writing sections of TSI.) TAKS scores can be no more than 3 years old.
B.  A student who has graduated with an associate or baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited Texas public institution of higher education.
C.  A student who is serving on active duty as a member of the armed forces of the United States, the Texas National Guard, or as a member of a reserve component of the armed services of the United States and has been serving for at least 3 years preceding enrollment.
D.  A student who on or after August 1, 1990 was honorably discharged, retired, or released from active duty as a member of the armed forces of the United States or the Texas National Guard, or services as a member of a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States.
E.  Transfer from a private, independent or accredited out-of-state institution of higher education after earning a "C" or better in approved college -level courses as designated by A&M-Texarkana.  (Contact Registrar for more information.)
F.  Achieve minimum scores on one of the approved tests (THEA, Compass, Accuplacer, or Asset. (Please contact the Registrar for information on approved tests.)
G.  Satisfied all readiness requirements at another Texas institution of higher education and has provided official documentation of the status.

NOTE: A&M-Texarkana is a test site for the THEA Quick Test (QT) and Accuplacer. Please see University Tests and Seminars section of this web page for scheduled dates.

5.   SOAR – Student Orientation, Advising and Registration
All new undergraduate students are required to attend SOAR to register for classes.  See SOAR dates in this schedule.

Continuing students may register for class using
Web for Students. See Web for Student instructions. Continuing students may also register by mail, e-mail( or by fax (903) 223-3140 or by registering in person in the Admissions Office.

7.   TOEFL Test
Students from non-native English speaking countries will be required to pass the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) Test prior to enrolling at A&M-Texarkana. Minimum scores are 550 on the paper-based test, 213 on the computer-based test and 79 on the internet-based test. Students with degrees from postsecondary institutions in English speaking countries, or who have successfully completed two years (48 sch) of study in which English was the language of instruction, will be exempt from the TOEFL test.

Payment of tuition and fees must be submitted by the following dates:

Summer 2011

Summer I Regular Registration

June 3rd by 5:00pm

Summer I Late Registration

due by the close of business on the day you late register ($25.00 late fee)

Summer II Regular Registration

July 12th by 6:00pm

Summer II Late Registration

due by the close of business on the day you late register ($25.00 late fee)


Go to top of page


Costs include tuition, student service fee, student center fee, recreational sports fee, records fee, traffic safety fee, international education fee, library fee, student endowment scholarship fee, technology fee and advising fee. The following are only minimum figures. Parking fees, course fees, lab fees and distance education fees are not included.

All checks submitted for payment will have the student's campus wide id (CWID) written on it. University staff will write the CWID on the checks when a student has not done so already.

Tuition and fee statements will be available ONLINE ONLY.  Students will receive an email notification when statements are available.

Tuition and Fee Schedule for Summer 2011.

Summer 2011


Resident and Border Counties

Border States






















































































Summer 2011


Resident and Border Counties

Border States
























































































Tuition and fees for summer 2011 may be charged to MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and/or American Express over the Web, by mail with a check/money order, or in person with a check, cash or credit card.  Please follow these instructions to pay on the web:

Access A&M-Texarkana's web site at
Select Current Students
Select Web for Students
Select Enter Secure Area
After you log in
Select Touchnet Payment Gateway
Select make a payment

Please contact the
Fiscal Office at (903) 223-3115 if you need assistance with making payment of tuition and fees with a credit card.


Students are responsible for paying all financial obligations owed to the university when due. Prior to the end of each semester or term, each student should determine that all accounts are paid. In the event your account becomes delinquent, you will be responsible for all costs of collection. These costs include collection agency fees, attorney fees, court costs, judgment interest and any other allowable charges in accordance with state regulations. Non-payment of any accounts will be entered on the student's record and the Registrar's Office will  be prohibited from registering the student for classes or providing an official A&M-Texarkana transcript until full payment is made.

Go to top of page


AAS 390 - $10.00

ACCT 429 - $21.00

ART 369 - $10.00


ART 506 - $10.00

ART 510 - $10.00

BIOL 307 - $20.00

BIOL 308 - $20.00

BIOL 310 - $25.00

BIOL 402 - $30.00

BIOL 403 - $20.00

BIOL 405 - $10.00

BIOL 406 - $10.00

BIOL 407 - $10.00

BIOL 408 - $10.00

BIOL 410 - $30.00

BIOL 411 - $30.00

BIOL 436 - $10.00

BIOL 437 - $10.00

BIOL 438 - $10.00

BIOL 440 - $10.00

BIOL 449 - $20.00

BIOL 450 - $20.00

BIOL 464 - $20.00

BIOL 466 - $10.00

BIOL 472 - $25.00

BIOL 481 - $5.00

BIOL 490 - $25.00

BIOL 510 - $5.00

BIOL 511 - $5.00

BIOL 515 - $5.00

BIOL 1106 - $20.00

BIOL 1107 - $20.00

BIOL 1306 - $10.00

BIOL 1307 - $10.00

CHED 510 - $5.00

CHEM 405 - $25.00

CHEM 410 - $30.00

CHEM 411 - $30.00

CHEM 472 - $25.00

CHEM 490 - $25.00

CHEM 510 - $5.00

CHEM 511 - $5.00

CHEM 1111 - $20.00

CHEM 1112 - $20.00

CHEM 1311 - $10.00

CHEM 1312 - $10.00

CHEM 2423 - $30.00

CHEM 2425 – $30.00

CJ 472 - $25.00

COSC 1315 - $10.00

COSC 2305 - $10.00

COSC 2318 - $10.00

COUN 517 - $20.00

CS 305 - $10.00

CS 310 - $10.00

CS 320 - $10.00

CS 332 - $15.00

CS 340 - $20.00

CS 352 - $15.00

CS 353 - $15.00

CS 360 - $20.00

CS 361 - $15.00

CS 362 - $20.00

CS 363 - $20.00

CS 367 - $20.00

CS 370 - $20.00

CS 380 - $10.00

CS 410 - $10.00

CS 420 - $20.00

CS 425 - $20.00

CS 435 - $20.00

CS 465 - $20.00

CS 466 - $20.00

CS 467 - $20.00

CS 468 - $20.00

CS 485 - $20.00

ED 506 - $10.00

EDAD 531 - $75.00

EDAD 567 - $75.00

EDAD 588 - $25.00

EDAD 591 - $25.00

EE 210 - $15.00

EE 305 - $10.00

EE 310 - $10.00

EE 317 - $10.00

EE 319 - $10.00

EE 320 - $20.00

EE 321 - $10.00

EE 322 – $20.00

EE 325 - $10.00

EE 326 - $20.00

EE 332 - $15.00

EE 335 - $20.00

EE 336 - $20.00

EE 340 - $20.00

EE 342 - $20.00

EE 345 - $10.00

EE 346 - $15.00

EE 425 - $15.00

EE 427 - $15.00

EE 429 - $10.00

EE 431 - $10.00

EE 451 - $2.00

EE 455 - $10.00

EE 465 - $15.00


EE 467 - $10.00

EE 469 - $10.00

EE 470 - $15.00


EE 475 - $20.00

GEOL 1403 - $15.00

GEOL 1404 - $15.00


LEAD 210- $15.00

MAED 520 - $5.00

MATH 315 - $5.00


MAED 503 - $5.00

MATH 415 - $5.00

MATH 430 - $10.00


MATH 355 - $5.00

MATH 453 - $5.00

MATH 457 - $5.00


MATH 437 - $5.00

MATH 2113 - $5.00

MATH 2313 – $5.00


MATH 1314 - $5.00

MATH 2415 – $5.00

PHYS 1101 - $20.00


MATH 2414 - $5.00

PHYS 1115 - $20.00

PHYS 1117 - $20.00


PHYS 1102 – $20.00

PHYS 1302 - $10.00

PHYS 1315 - $10.00


PHYS 1301 - $10.00

PHYS 1403 -  $20.00

PHYS 2125 - $20.00


PHYS 1317 – $10.00

PHYS 2325 - $10.00

PHYS 2326 - $10.00


PHYS 2126 - $20.00

SCED 503 - $20.00

SCED 504 - $20.00


PSY 560 - $20.00

SCED 506 - $20.00

SCED 507 - $15.00


SCED 505 - $20.00

SCED 510 - $5.00

SCED 520 - $5.00


SCED 508 - $20.00

SCED 529 - $5.00

SPED 547 - $25.00


SPED 417 - $10.00

SPED 549 - $25.00








 A $15 per credit hour fee will be charged to all web based courses, web enhanced courses, face to face courses not taught in the Texarkana city limits or at NTCC, and TTVN courses not taught/received in Texarkana or at NTCC.


All students attending A&M-Texarkana and parking a vehicle on either the Main or South campus are required to purchase a parking permit.  Permits may be purchased Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. in the Business Office. Rates are as follows:

·         $25.00 September-August

·         $20.00 January-August

·         $12.00 May-August

·         $5.00 - Additional Parking Permit


Residence Status
Tuition is assessed each student on the basis of residence classification and the number of semester credit hours for which he registers.  The definition of a Texas resident is a U.S. citizen who is gainfully employed and has resided in the state of Texas for 12 months (prior to enrollment) for the purpose of establishing legal residency.

Oath of Residency
The student is responsible for registering under the proper residence classification and for providing documentation as required by the institution. If there is any question as to an individual's rights to be classified as a resident of Texas, it is the student's obligation, prior to or at the time of enrollment, to raise the question with the Admissions Office for official determination. Students classified as residents must affirm the correctness of that classification as part of the admissions procedure. If the student's classification as a resident becomes inappropriate for any reason, it is the responsibility of the student to notify the Admissions Office. Failure to notify the institution constitutes a violation of the Oath of Residency and will result in disciplinary action.  Consult the current General Catalog for further information.

Note: A Non-Resident is a U.S. citizen who resides outside the state of Texas or has not been a resident of Texas for 12 months immediately preceding the date of enrollment. An Alien is a person who is a citizen of another country or has not yet received U.S. citizenship.

Border County Residents
A nonresident student who is a resident of a county or parish of Arkansas, Louisiana, or Oklahoma that is adjacent to this state is eligible to pay in-state rates.

Border State Residents
A nonresident student who resides in a state 100 miles or less from the university is eligible to pay Border State Rates which is $30 per semester credit hour higher than Texas resident rates.

Go to top of page


Refunds for drops or withdrawals are based on the total tuition being paid. Students who drop or withdraw are responsible for any remaining tuition payments. 

Refund Schedule for Dropped Courses
Refunds are based on total assessed tuition, not total tuition paid. A class dropped by the dates listed below will result in a reduction in total assessed tuition provided the student remains enrolled for the semester. No reduction in fees will be given for courses dropped after the dates listed below:

Summer I     (3 week)     June 7th

Summer I     (4 week)     June 8th

Summer I     (5 week)     June 9th

Summer I     (10 week)   June 14th


Summer II    (4 week)     July 15th

Summer II    (5 week)     July 18th


Refunds for courses dropped by a student who later withdraws are calculated according to the withdrawal schedule above. If a scheduled course fails to materialize because it lacks the required number of students, all fees for that course will be refunded.

Refund Schedule for Withdrawals
A student who officially withdraws from all courses will receive a refund of fees according to the following schedule:

NOTE: The semester's first class day is always the first official day of the semester, not the first day of an individual's class.

Note: Students may not withdraw from all classes through Web for Students. You will be required to contact the Registrar's Office to withdraw from all classes. You may contact us by emailing


Summer I  (3 week)

Until midnight June 3rd  


June 6-7th


June 8-9th


June  10th and thereafter

No Refund

 Summer I  (4 and 5 week)

Until midnight June 3rd 


June 6-8th   


June 9, 10-13th


June 14th and thereafter

No Refund

Summer I  (10 week)

Until midnight June 3rd 


June 6-9 


June 10, 13-15th 


June 16th and thereafter

No Refund

Summer II  (4 and 5 week)

Until midnight July 12th  


July 13-15th  


July 18-20th 


July 21st  and thereafter

No Refund


Withdrawal refund for students paying in installments are calculated as follows:

100% means you will receive 100% refund of tuition paid
80% means you will receive a refund of 30% (50% paid less 20% owed = 30% refund)
50% means you will not receive a refund and do not owe any additional tuition (50% paid less 50% owed = 0)


All Financial Aid refund checks will be mailed to the student's current address on file in the Registrar’s Office unless the student has elected for direct deposit.


Students who have received financial aid that withdraw from A&M-Texarkana on or before the 60% point in the semester must repay a portion of his/her financial aid as specified by the Federal formula. The student is only eligible to maintain the amount of financial aid he/she has earned at the time attendance ceases. The student will be required to repay both the Federal programs and A&M-Texarkana for institutional charges. A&M-Texarkana will use the Federal formula in determining the amount the student must repay. All financial aid students must contact the Financial Aid Office before withdrawing from classes in order to understand the adverse affects of his/her withdrawal.

Financial Aid Students Who Drop Classes
Financial aid awards are based on the student’s enrollment status on the university's official census date report. If the student drops below the number of hours for which he/she was paid on or before the official census date, repayment for some or all of the financial aid may be required. If the students drops after the census date, make-up hours may be required.

Financial Aid Students and Non-Attendance
Students who are awarded financial aid that fail to attend any of his/her classes must repay ALL financial aid he/she received.

Courses abandoned without processing an official drop or withdrawal in the Admissions Office will result in a grade of "F" regardless of the time the student ceases to attend class.

Go to top of page


1.    College Level Skills Assessment
All parts of the THEA or Accuplacer must be successfully completed prior to enrolling in any education or special education courses.
 Passing scores for Education students are as follows:




Reading: 240


Reading Comprehension: 84

Math: 230


Elementary Algebra: 63

Writing: 220


Sentence Skills: 80

Essay: 5


Essay: 5

Registration materials are available in the Office of Teacher Certification. A&M-Texarkana is a test site for the THEA Quick Test (QT) and Accuplacer.  Please see the Test section in this schedule for test dates and times.

3.      Teacher Preparation Orientation
All students seeking teacher certification must complete the Teacher Preparation Orientation.  The purpose of this orientation is to provide our teacher candidates with the information to complete the education program successfully.  The Teacher Preparation Orientation is offered in an online format through Blackboard.  Completion of this orientation is  required for admission to the Teacher Preparation Program.  Contact the Teacher Certification Office at (903) 223-3048 for more information.

4.      Faculty Advisor Conference
New education students must meet with their faculty advisor during their first semester of enrollment, or they will be blocked from enrolling for the following semester.

5.      Minimum GPA Requirement
Education students must achieve/maintain a minimum GPA of 2.60 for all completed courses.

6.      Field-Based Semester
The semester preceding the resident teaching semester, students must enroll in appropriate field-based courses. Application for the field-based semester must be submitted online prior to student's field based semester.
Click here to access the form. Contact the Office of Teacher Certification for additional information at (903) 223-3048.

Deadline for field-based Semester application:
Oct. 1st for Spring Intern
March 1st for Fall Intern

6.      Resident Semester
Students will complete Resident teaching in their final semester (Fall or Spring only).

7.      TExES Exams
The TExES is usually taken taken during your last semester of course work (resident semester). Students seeking teacher certification must successfully complete the TExES. These exams are administered at A&M-Texarkana under the guidelines of the State Board of Educator Certification. A&M-Texarkana students must be approved through the Office of Teacher Certification in order to take the exams.

Test Date

Registration Deadline

June 2, 2011

May 27, 2011


8.      The test fee is $82 per test. Contact the Office of Teacher Certification for additional information at (903)223-3048

Go to top of page


Major Field Tests for Arts & Sciences Graduates
To complete program requirements for graduation, students in the following programs must take the Major Field Test administered by the University, in their final semester.

        BS or BA:
        Biology, English, or Psychology - TBA

        BS or BBA:
        All Business Majors - given in Mgt 439 classes

        MS or MBA:
        Business Administration - given in Mgt 527 classes


Comprehensive Final Exams Schedule
Comprehensive Final Exams for masters level students who plan to graduate in August 2011 will be held as follows:


July 9th



Go to top of page


Students who have not satisfied the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) may take the Texas Higher Education Assessment (THEA) Test or Accuplacer to satisfy this requirement.  Students must contact the Testing Center at (903) 223-3072 to schedule a time to take the THEA Quick Test or Accuplacer. (NOTE: Students may take the THEA Quick Test only once every 30 days.)

The cost for taking the THEA Quick Test is $34.00 ($29.00 payable to National Evaluation Systems and $5.00 payable to Texas A&M University-Texarkana).

The cost for taking the Accuplacer is $34.00 payable to Texas A&M University-Texarkana.



The ACT Residual Test (ACT-R) is a college admissions exam that tests the areas of English, Math, Reading, and Science.  ACT-R is for students who 1) are enrolled, 2) have been admitted, or 3) are in the process of applying to the university and cannot test on a national test date. ACT-R scores are ONLY reported to Texas A&M University-Texarkana and cannot be transferred to another university.  Scores are available approximately 4 weeks following the test administration. Examinees are required to call the Testing Center at 903-223-3072 to register to take the test at least 3 days in advance. The cost for taking the ACT-R is $45.00 payable to Texas A&M University-Texarkana. 

Go to top of page


A&M-Texarkana produces an annual Campus Crime Report that can be viewed on our web site at Campus Safety. The Campus Crime Report provides information on campus security, crime prevention practices, reporting crimes, drug and alcohol information, sexual assaults, and crime statistics showing the amount of crime occurring on campus over the last three-year period. A paper copy of the Campus Crime Report can be obtained by calling the Risk Management/Security Office at (903) 223-3114.


The Federal Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act requires institutions of higher education to advise the campus community where law enforcement agency information provided by a State concerning registered sex offenders may be obtained.

In the State of Texas, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the statewide source of information on sex offenders required by law to register. The DPS Sex Offender Registration open record information may be obtained at the Internet location:


Access to computers is available during all university operating hours with a lab assistant available in the open lab during posted hours. A computer account is required to utilize computers both in classes and in the open lab. Computer accounts at A&M-Texarkana are available to all enrolled students for use in university classes and are generated automatically for current students. This account will be valid as long as the student continues to enroll in classes.

A student account includes an e-mail account and a personal directory. Information sheets containing account information are available in all computer labs and in the Technology & Distance Education office. Students may access their e-mail accounts by selecting Current Students on the A&M-Texarkana home page and selecting Student Email

NOTE: It is the responsibility of the student to save copies of all data created while using computers in the labs. Lab computers are restored to a default condition each time they are restarted, therefore, student data must be saved on a floppy drive, personal directory ( Network Drive S: ) or class directory (Network Drive U: ). Data saved to Drive C: on lab computers will be erased when the unit is restarted.

If you have questions or comments please contact the Tech/DE office through the web site at

The computer labs are available for students in order to provide an effective and convenient resource to help accomplish academic goals and to promote a quality learning experience at A&M-Texarkana. Therefore, students must adhere to the following:

1.      Password/account information must not be shared with others.

2.      Only current A&M-Texarkana students and authorized personnel are permitted in the computer labs.

3.      Cell phones and pagers must be turned off or placed on vibrate. No phone calls can be taken in the computer lab. Students must leave the lab if necessary to make or answer a call.

4.      Students must be considerate of others and keep the computer labs quiet.

5.      No food, beverages, or tobacco may be consumed in the computer labs.

6.      Contact Technology and Distance Education, ext 3083 for information or to report problems in the computer labs.


Go to top of page