FALL 2013 SCHEDULE

GENERAL INFORMATION

Statement of Equal Opportunity
It is the policy of Texas A&M University-Texarkana not to discriminate on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, disability, age, or veteran status in its academic programs, activities or employment practices. Inquiries regarding compliance may be directed to Mr. Ricky Norton, 7101 University Avenue, Texarkana, Texas 75503, telephone (903) 223-3012, or to the Director of the Office for Civil Rights, Department of Health, Education and Welfare, Washington, D.C., or the Texas Commission on Human Rights, Austin, Texas.

Statement of Sexual Harassment
Sexual harassment of students or employees at A&M-Texarkana is unacceptable and will not be tolerated. Guidelines governing the policy are available upon request from the Office of Student Life for students, and the Office of Human Resources/EEO for employees.

Accreditation
A&M-Texarkana is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033, telephone (404) 676-4501.

Directory Information
In compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, A&M-Texarkana gives notice that the following directory information will be released upon request: student's name, address(permanent and local), telephone listing, A&M-Texarkana email address, photograph, date and place of birth, enrollment status (undergraduate, graduate, classification, etc.) major field of study, participation in officially recognized activities and sports, dates of attendance, degrees, certificates and awards received, type of award received, full or part-time status, and most recent previous educational agency or institution attended by the student.

Any student who objects to the release of all or any part of the directory information on file in his or her name must notify the Admissions Office in writing that he or she does not wish to have such information released. This request will be honored, and all of the information will be held confidential.

Students have the right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the university to comply with the requirements of FERPA. the name and address of the office that administers FERPA is Family Compliance Office, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20202-4605.

Class Changes
Classes are subject to change at any time. Any course may be withdrawn from the current listing if the enrollment is too small to justify conducting the course or as a result of a reduction in funding.

Room Assignments
Room assignments that appear on the confirmation of class enrollments that are received during registration are tentative.  Students should always check Web for Students for updated room assignments at the beginning of each semester for final classroom assignments.

 

 

 

SEMESTER CALENDAR

Please note registration dates and deadlines, tuition payment due dates, transcript deadlines and drop/withdrawal dates.

Fall 2013 Full Term          August 26-December 11

                               1st 7 week Term                August 26 – October 14

                               2nd 7 Week Term              October 17 – December 6

Pre-Registration for full term and 1st 7 week term

May 14 – August 23

Pre-Registration for 2nd 7 week term

May 14 – October 16

Emergency Loans for Fall I available

August 19 – August 23

Book Vouchers for Fall I available

August 19 – August 23

First class day for full term and 1st 7 week term

August 26 (M)

Late Registration for full term and 1st 7 week term

August 26 – August 28 (M-W)

Last day to pay tuition for full term and 1st 7 week term.  First installment payment is due. (students will be dropped for non-payment)

August 29 (R) by noon

Due date for Housing and Meal Plans

(for Payment Plan options contact the Business Office)

August 29 (R) by noon

 

Last day to drop without a grade 1st 7 week term

August 30 (F)

 

Holiday – University Closed

September 2 (M)

Last day to drop without a grade full term

September 11 (W)

Last day to apply for December graduation

September 11 (W)

2nd installment payment due by 4:30 pm

September 19 (R)

Last day to drop or withdraw 1st 7 week term

October 4 (F)

3rd installment payment due by 4:30 pm

October 10 (R)

Mid-Term grades due full term only

  October 14 (M)

Last class day 1st 7 week term

October 14 (M)

First class day 2nd 7 week term

October 17 (R)

Late Registration 2nd 7 week term

$25.00 Late Registration Fee

October 17-21 (R-M)

 

Last day to pay tuition for 2nd 7 week term

October 22 (T) by noon

Last day to drop without a grade 2nd 7 week term

October 23 (W)

Final installment payment due

November 7 (R)

Last day to drop or withdraw full term

November 25 (M)

Last day to drop or withdraw 2nd 7 week term

November 27 (W)

Thanksgiving Holidays – University Closed

November 28-29 (R-F)

Last class day 2nd 7 week term

December 6 (F)

Exam Week (see final exam schedule listed under TESTING)

December 9-11 (M-W)

Last class day full term

December 11 (W)

Final grades due for graduating students

December 12 (R) 9:00 am

Commencement

December 14 (S) 10:00 am

Final grades due for all students

December 18 (W) 9:00 am

 

REGISTRATION OPENING DATES

Continuing students

May 14th (T)

Returning students (students returning to the same level - undergraduate or graduate)

May 16th (R)

New Graduate Students

May 16th (R)

New Undergraduate Students*

See required SOAR dates below

Registration may be completed online through Web for Students. Registration may also be completed in-person in the Registrar’s Office located in the University One Stop Shop in room UC 260 in University Center. Unless otherwise indicated in the semester calendar above, registration hours are:

 

Monday 8:30am-5:00pm

Tuesday 8:30am-7:00pm (close at 5:00pm if classes are not in session)

Wednesday –Friday 8:30am-5:00pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

*SOAR – STUDENT ORIENTATION, ADVISING AND REGISTRATION


In order to register for classes, SOAR is REQUIRED for ALL new students. Students must have been admitted to A&M-Texarkana and received notice of acceptance from the Office of Admissions before making a reservation to attend SOAR. Please refer to your admissions acceptance letter for instructions on registering for SOAR. For additional information, please visit our website at www.tamut.edu/Student-Life/SOAR-Orientation/index.html, email soar@tamut.edu, or call (903)223-1351.

Student Orientation Advising and Registration (SOAR) for Freshmen or Tranfers with fewer than 30 hours is a two day program that was designed to guide each new student at A&M-Texarkana to success. SOAR is required for all new students entering Texas A&M University-Texarkana.  While at SOAR students meet other new students, get advice from current students, meet with an advisor, register for classes, learn A&M-Texarkana traditions, stay in a residence hall, and HAVE FUN!!!

  Dates for SOAR for Freshmen and Transfers with fewer than 30 hours:

 

Fall 2013 Admits ONLY: (Start time Day 1: noon, End time Day 2: 3pm)

·    *Thursday, June 13-Friday, June 14, 2013

·     *Thursday, June 27-Friday, June 28, 2013

·     *Thursday, July 18-Friday, July 19, 2013

*This is a 2-day orientation which requires an overnight stay in our residence hall.

 

Transfer students with 30 Credits and above:

These students will have the option of attending an Overnight SOAR Session or a 1-Day Advising and Registration Session accompanied by an Online Orientation.  SOAR TNT is designed to accommodate the lives and schedules of our transfer and non-traditional students.  We know you’ve been to college before; we just want to help you be successful at A&M-Texarkana. While at SOAR you will:

   Meet other new students and get advice from current A&M-Texarkana students

   Meet with your academic advisor

   Register for classes

   Learn A&M-Texarkana traditions

   Learn about A&M-Texarkana resources and departments

 

Advising and Registration Dates for Transfer Students with 30 hours or more are:

Fall 2013 Admits ONLY: (3pm-6pm)

   College of Business

      -Tuesday, July 2, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

      -Tuesday, July 23, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

      -Tuesday, August 13, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

   College of Education and Liberal Arts

      -Tuesday, June 25, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

      -Tuesday, July 16, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

      -Tuesday, August 6, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

   College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

      -Tuesday, July 2, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

      -Tuesday, July 23, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

      -Tuesday, August 13, 2013-University Center Library (3rd Floor)

 

NTCC Students:  August 13th and 14th

                              Contact Carmen.Shurtleff@tamut.edu for more information.

 

BLACKBOARD COURSES

Online Course Accounts for Students

Account Information

Login Name = (First 4 letters of last name) + (Last 4 numbers of CWID) (Campus-Wide Identification)

(ex: smit1234)

Password = CWID number (no dashes)

 

General Information

For All Students that Pre-Register, a Student account will be available the first day of classes and not before.

For New Students that Register on or after the first day of classes, a Student login account will be available within 24 business day hours of registering.

 

Accessing Your Online Course

Access the Blackboard website at http://blackboard.tamut.edu.

   Login using your account information.

 

   Blackboard Questions

   For Blackboard Training go to http:llwww.tamut.edu/training/Students

  

   Contact Julia Allen at (903)223-3154 or Technology Services at (903)223-3084.

   You can also submit a “trouble ticked” at http://www.tamut.edu/techde/support.htm

 

REPEATED COURSES

Students who attempt a course three or more times at A&M-Texarkana since Fall 2002 will be charged an additional $50.00 per credit hour for the repeated course. The bill you receive after you register may not accurately reflect the additional tuition and fees for the courses attempted three or more times. A&M-Texarkana reserves the right to adjust the student's tuition as a result of registering for the third or more time.

The following courses are exempt from this rule:

1.      Thesis or dissertation courses

2.      Courses that may be repeated for credit because they involve different or more advanced content each time the course is taken

3.      Independent Study courses

4.      Special Topics and Seminar courses

5.      Continuing education courses that must be repeated to retain professional certification

 

 

 

 

LIMITATION ON IN-STATE TUITION RATES
FOR SOME UNDERGRADUATES

New undergraduate students enrolling in an institution of higher education in Fall 1999 or afterward are subject to the conditions of Senate Bill 345 passed in the 76th Legislative session. The law states that a resident undergraduate student whose attempted hours exceeds, by at least 45 semester credit hours, the number of hours required for completion of the degree program may be charged tuition at a higher rate. The higher rate will not exceed the rate charged to non-resident undergraduate students. A resident student is one who pays the in-state rate for tuition purposes. For students who enroll in college for the first time Fall 2006 or afterward, the excessive hours limit changes to 30 semester credit hours.

 

LIMITATION ON DROPPING COURSES

Under section 51.907 of the Texas Education Code, "an institution of higher education may not permit a student to drop more than six courses, including any course a transfer student has dropped at another institution of higher education." This statue was enacted by the State of Texas in spring 2007 and applied to students who enroll in a public institution of higher education as first-time freshmen in fall 2007 or later. Any course that a student drops is counted toward the six-drop limit if "(1) the student was able to drop the course without receiving a grade or incurring an academic penalty; (2) the student's transcript indicates or will indicate that the student was enrolled in the course; and (3) the student is not dropping the course in order to withdraw from the institution." Some exemptions for good cause could allow a student to drop a course without having it counted toward this limit, but it is the responsibility of the student to establish that good cause.

Contact the Office of Admissions for more information before you drop a course.

A&M-Texarkana students affected by this statue that has attended or plans to attend another institution of higher education should become familiar with that institution's policies on dropping courses.

 

SEMESTER GRADES

Semester grades are posted to Web for Students at the end of the term. They are NOT mailed. Students should log on to Web for Students to obtain grades (instructions are listed above). If you have any questions, please contact the Registrar's Office at (903)334-6601.

 

AWARDING OF DEGREES AND COMMENCEMENT

In order for a student to receive their degree and participate in commencement, a student must have completed all degree requirements and have a zero balance on their account by Friday one week prior to the graduation ceremony.

 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES

Please visit the Office of Admissions website, www.tamut.edu/admission for requirements and procedures for all student types.

Adult Learners (special category)
A special category of admissions is available to adult learners not immediately interested in pursuing a degree but who wish to enroll to satisfy a career or personal goal. All students are required to meet the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) requirements. Those persons lacking a high school diploma or GED must request permission to enroll as an audit student.

TESTING


Texas Success Initiative (TSI)

Students attending Texas public institutions of higher education must be in compliance with the Texas Success Initiative (TSI), as of Fall 2003 (Texas Education Code §51.3062) in order to enroll in public institutions of higher education. The law requires all entering college students to be assessed for college readiness in reading, mathematics and writing unless the student qualifies for an exemption. Each student who fails to meet the minimum passing standard of the exam offered by the institution must be placed in a developmental education program designed to help the student achieve college readiness.

 

NOTE:  TSI assessment is changing for students who enroll August 26th or later.  For information on the new TSI assessment, please contact the Admissions Office.

 

Which students must take a TSI exam?

Unless exempt, students who are entering a Texas college or university must take a TSI exam and receive a passing score in order to enroll in credit bearing courses. Students may be exempt from taking a TSI exam by achieving any of the requirements below:

 

ACT Exam: Achieve a composite score of 23 or higher with at least a 19 on both the English and Math sections.

 

SAT Exam: Achieve a combined verbal and math score of 1070 with a minimum of 500 on both the verbal test and math test.

 

TAKS Exam: Achieve a minimum score of 2200 on both the English and/or math sections with at least a 3 on the writing component of the 11th grade TAKS (for a period for 3 years from the date of testing).

 

Military: A student who is currently serving as and, for at least the three-year period preceding enrollment, has served as a member of a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States; or a student who on or after August 1, 1990, was honorably discharged, retired, or released from:

(A)         active duty as a member of the armed forces of the United States or Texas National Guard; or

(B)         service as a member of a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States.

 

Transfer: Transfer from a private or independent institution or an accredited out-of-state institution and has satisfactorily completed college-level coursework as determined by the receiving institution. A Grade of C or better is required on specific courses that are used to meet this exemption.

 

Degree: A student who has graduated with an associate or baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited Texas public institution of higher education.

Out-Of-State: Transfer from a private, independent or accredited out-of-state institution of higher education after earning a "C" or better in approved college -level courses as designated by A&M-Texarkana. (Contact Registrar for more information.)

Texas Institution Exemption: Satisfied all readiness requirements at another public Texas institution of higher education and has provided official documentation of the status.

 

When do students take a TSI exam?

Students must take a TSI exam and have scores on file before they can enroll in college-level classes. Each college and university offers a different exam. A student must take the exam required by the college or university he/she will be attending.

 

What TSI exams are available to students?

The exams currently authorized to satisfy TSI are:

ASSET

COMPASS

THEA

ACCUPLACER

 

What TSI exams do I have to take?

To establish a status for TSI, you must have a test score in the reading, mathematics, and writing sections of one of the above listed exams. Please note that you must have both a writing AND essay score for the writing section of TSI. Please make sure that you choose a testing center that provides both sections PRIOR to testing.

 

The following exams offer multiple sections in mathematics. You must take one of the exams listed below. this is the ONLY section that can be used to determine your TSI status for the mathematics section of TSI:

 

ASSET-Elementary Algebra

COMPASS-Algebra

ACCUPLACER-Elementary Algebra

 

Please contact the Registrar’s Office at (903) 334-6604 for minimum passing scores for the above exams or any additional questions regarding TSI. Our testing center offers the and ACCUPLACER. You may contact the Testing Center to sign up for either of these exams by phone at (903) 223-3072 or by email at testing.center@tamut.edu.

 

Developmental Education Program

What happens if a student does not pass all parts of a TSI exam?

Students who do not pass one or all parts (English, mathematics, and writing) of a TSI exam must enroll in an appropriate developmental education course before the student may enroll in a credit bearing course for the subject in which he/she did not meet state standards. A student may retake an exam instrument at any time, subject to availability, to determine the student's readiness to perform freshman-level academic coursework.

       

Please contact the Success Center at (903) 334-6721 for more information.

 

 

 

THEA Quick Test and Accuplacer Test

Students who have not satisfied the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) may take the Texas Higher Education Assessment (THEA) Test or Accuplacer to satisfy this requirement. Students must contact the Testing Center at (903) 223-3072 or testigncenter@tamut.edu to schedule a time to take the THEA Quick Test or Accuplacer. (NOTE: Students may take the THEA Quick Test only once every 30 days.)

The cost for taking the THEA Quick Test is $29.00 payable to National Evaluation Systems and $15.00 payable to Texas A&M University-Texarkana. The THEA Quick Test is given monthly and by appointment only.

The cost for taking the Accuplacer is $15.00 for one exam, $30.00 for 2 exams or $34.00 for ¾ exams payable to Texas A&M University-Texarkana.  The Accuplacer test is given daily, but requires 24 hour notice.  Contact the Testing Center to schedule an appointment to take the test.

TOEFL IBT

The TOEFL iBT is a computer-base and measures your ability to use and understand English at the university      level. And it evaluates how well you combine your listening, reading, speaking and writing skills to perform academic tasks. Students from non-native English speaking countries will be required to pass the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) iBT Test prior to enrolling at A&M-Texarkana. Minimum scores are 550 on the paper-based test, 213 on the computer-based test and 79 on the internet-based test. Students with degrees from postsecondary institutions in English speaking countries, or who have successfully completed two years (48 SCH) of study in which English was the language of instruction, will be exempt from the TOEFL test.

You must register online to take the TOEFL iBT. The cost to take the TOEFL iBT is $180.00. Click on TOEFL iBT for additional information. If you require additional information, you can call the Testing Center at 903-223-3072 or testingcenter@tamut.edu.

 

Major Field Tests for Arts & Sciences Graduates
To complete program requirements for graduation, students in the following programs must take the Major Field Test administered by the University, in their final semester.


BS or BA:
Biology, English, or Psychology - TBA

BS or BBA:
All Business Majors - given in Mgt 439 classes

MS or MBA:
Business Administration - given in Mgt 527 classes

 

Comprehensive Final Exams for Graduate Students

Comprehensive Final Exams for masters level students who plan to graduate in December 2013 to be announced.

 

 

 

   ACT Residual Test (ACT-R)

The ACT Residual Test (ACT-R) is a college admissions exam that tests the areas of English, Math, Reading, and Science. The ACT-R is scheduled once a month and by appointment only.  Examinees are required to call the Testing Center at 903-223-3072 or register at testingcenter@tamut.edu to register to take the exam.  The cost for taking the ACT-R is $60.00 payable to Texas A&M University-Texarkana.  ACT-R is for students who 1) are enrolled, 2) have been admitted, or 3) are in the process of applying to the university and cannot test on a national test date. ACT-R scores are ONLY reported to A&M-Texarkana and cannot be transferred to another university. Scores except for writing are available approximately 4 weeks following the test administration.

FALL 2013 FINAL EXAM SCHEDULE

If Your class meets for FIRST time in the week:

EXAM Date/Hour

Monday—8:00 am

Tuesday—8:00 am

Wednesday—8:00 am

Friday—8:00 am

8:00-10:00 am Monday

 

 

Monday, December 9

Monday—11:00 am

10:30-12:30 pm Monday

Monday—1:00 pm

1:30-3:30 pm Monday

Monday—4:00 pm

Wednesday—4:00 pm

Monday—5:00 pm

Wednesday—5:00 pm

Wednesday—5:30 pm

Thursday—5:00 pm

4:00-6:00 pm Monday

Monday 5:30 pm

Monday 5:45 pm

Monday 6:00 pm

Monday 8:20 am

Monday 8:30 am

Wednesday 8:30 am

Friday 8:30 am

6:30-8:30 pm Monday

If Your class meets for FIRST time in the week:

EXAM Date/Hour

Tuesday 9:30 am

Wednesday 1:00 pm

Thursday 1:00 pm

Monday 3:50 pm

8:00-10:00 am Tuesday

 

 

Tuesday, December 10

Tuesday 10:00 am

Tuesday 11:00 am

Friday 10:00 am

10:30-12:30 pm Tuesday

Tuesday 1:00 pm

1:30-3:30 pm Tuesday

Tuesday 4:00 pm

Friday 11:00 am

4:00-6:00 pm Tuesday

Tuesday 5:30 pm

Tuesday 6:00 pm                                                        

6:30-8:30 pm Tuesday

If Your class meets for FIRST time in the week:

EXAM Date/Hour

Monday 9:30 am

8:00-10:00 am Wednesday

 

 

Wednesday, December 11

Monday 2:30 pm

Tuesday 2:30 pm

Tuesday 3:30 pm

10:30-12:30 pm Wednesday

Friday 9:00 am

Friday 9:30 am

Friday 2:00 pm

Tuesday 7:00 pm

Thursday 7:00 pm

Tuesday 7:30 pm

 

1:30-3:30 pm Wednesday

Thursday 4:00 pm

Thursday 4:30pm

Thursday 5:30 pm

Thursday 6:00 pm

4:00-6:00 pm Wednesday

Monday 7:00 pm

Wednesday 6:00 pm

Wednesday 7:00 pm

6:30-8:30 pm Wednesday

PAYMENT AND FINANCIAL INFORMATION

 

Costs include tuition, student service fee, student center fee, recreational sports fee, records fee, traffic safety fee, international education fee, library fee, student endowment scholarship fee, technology fee, advising fee, health fee, college enhancement fee, and green fee. The following are only minimum figures. Parking fees, course fees, lab fees and distance education fees are not included.

All checks submitted for payment will have the student's campus wide id (CWID) written on it. University staff will write the CWID on the checks when a student has not done so already.

Tuition and fee statements will be available ONLINE ONLY. Students will receive an email notification when statements are available.

 

Credit Card Payment

Tuition and fees may be paid by charging to MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and/or American Express over the Web, by mail with a check/money order, or in person with a check, cash or credit card. Please follow these instructions to pay on the web:

Access A&M-Texarkana's web site at http://www.tamut.edu
Select Current Students
Select Web for Students
Select Enter Secure Area
After you log in
Select Touchnet Payment Gateway
Select make a payment
Please contact the
Fiscal Office at (903) 223-3115 if you need assistance with making payment of tuition and fees with a credit card.

 

PAYMENT OF TUITION AND FEES                                                         
Payment of tuition and fees must be submitted by the following dates:

Fall 2013

Fall full term & 1st 7 week term

August 29 by noon

2nd 7 week term

October 22 by noon

 

TUITION AND FEES

Tuition and Fee Schedule for Fall 2013

UNDERGRADUATE TUITION*
Fall 2013

Hrs

Resident

Border States

Non-Resident

1

$312.37

$337.37

$658.37

2

$517.74

$572.74

$1,214.74

3

$723.11

$808.11

$1,771.11

4

$928.48

$1,403.48

$2,327.48

5

$1,133.85

$1,278.85

$2,883.85

6

$1,339.22

$1,514.22

$3,440.22

7

$1,544.59

$1,749.59

$3,996.59

8

$1,749.96

$1,984.9

$4,552.96

9

$1,955.33

$2,220.33

$5,109.33

10

$2,160.70

$2,455.70

$5,665.70

11

$2,366.07

$3,691.07

$6,222.07

12

$2,788.84

$3,143.84

$6,995.84

13

$2,885.51

$3,270.51

$7,443.51

14

$2,982.18

$3,397.18

$7,891.18

15

$3,078.80

$3,523.80

$8,338.80

16

$3,158.80

$3,633.80

$8,769.80

17

$3,238.80

$3,743.80

$9,200.80

18

$3,318.80

$3,853.80

$9,631.80

19

$3,942.30

$4,507.30

$10,606.30

20

$4,131.00

$4,726.00

$11,146.00

21

$4,319.70

$4,944.70

$11,685.70

 

 

 

 

GRADUATE TUITION*
Fall 2013

Hrs

Resident

Border States

Non-Resident

1

$332.37

$357.37

$678.37

2

$557.74

$612.74

$1,254.74

3

$783.11

$868.11

$1,831.11

4

$1,008.48

$1,123.48

$2,407.48

5

$1,233.85

$1,378.85

$2,983.85

6

$1,459.11

$1,634.22

$3,560.22

7

$1,684.59

$1,889.59

$4,136.59

8

$1,909.96

$2,144.96

$4,712.96

9

$2,135.33

$2,400.33

$5,289.33

10

$2,360.70

$2,655.70

$5,865.70

11

$2,586.07

$2,911.07

$6,442.07

12

$3,028.84

$3,383.84

$7,235.84

13

$3,145.51

$3,530.51

$7,703.51

14

$3,262.18

$3,677.18

$8,171.18

15

$3,378.80

$3,823.80

$8,638.80

16

$3.478.80

$3,953.80

$9,089.80

17

$3,578.80

$4,083.80

$9,540.80

18

$3,678.80

$4,213.80

$9,991.80

19

$4,322.30

$4,887.30

$10.986.30

20

$4,531.00

$5,126.00

$11,546.00

21

$4,739.70

$5,354.70

$12,105.70

 

*The Intercollegiate Athletic fee was approved by a student body referendum in the spring of 2012.  The fee is still pending in the Texas Legislature and signature by Governor Perry.  If approved, students will pay $9 per SCH up to 12 semester credit hours or $108 per semester beginning with the fall of 2013.  The fee will be used to initiate intercollegiate sports and build sports facilities.

 

TUITION AND FEES INSTALLMENT PLAN

The installment plan is now available ONLINE ONLY.  Students may sign up for the installment plan by logging into Web for Students.

Students attending A&M-Texarkana shall be allowed to pay all tuition and mandatory fees during the fall and spring semesters using the installment payment alternative described in Section 54.007, Education Code, as amended.

Installment Payment Plan Terms:

A.       Students electing the installment payment plan option shall be obligated to pay the full amount of all tuition, mandatory fees and incidental fees specified in this installment plan agreement.

B.       The installment payment plan option selected may not be changed after a student's fee schedule has been produced.

C.       The first installment payment shall be due at the time of registration and shall be equal to 1/4 of all tuition and mandatory fees due for the semester, plus the full amount of the processing fee.

D.       Failure to make any installment payment by the end of the semester shall not cancel the obligation to pay the total installment payments and late payment fees.

E.        According to State Law(Texas Education Code 54.007), a student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited from registering for classes until full payment is made. A student who fails to make payment prior to the end of the semester may be denied credit for work done that semester. The university shall notify a student of any delinquent tuition or fee payment as soon as practicable. University records may be adjusted to reflect the student's failure to have properly enrolled for that semester. Expenses incurred in collecting the amounts due under this agreement, including but not limited to collection fees, attorney fees, and court costs will be the responsibility of the student.  If the student fails to make payments as specified, the student will be held responsible for any and all collection costs in addition to the required payment.

F.    A student seeking reinstatement to the university after withdrawing from the university without paying the full amount of tuition and fees, or having been dropped from the rolls of the university for failure to make installment payments when due, shall pay all past due installment payments and applicable late payment fees before reinstatement will be processed.

Processing and Incidental Fees:

A student paying tuition and required fees in four (4) installments shall pay a processing fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

To sign up for a payment plan:

1.    Log on to Web for Students

2.    Click on Touchnet Payment Gateway

3.    Click on box “Click for Current Account Status”

4.    Click on Tab “Enroll in a Payment Plan” and follow instructions

 

A student making an installment payment after the due date shall also pay a late payment fee; each installment payment must be received at the University Cashier's Office by the due date specified in the installment payment plan agreement.

 

Installment Due Dates

First payment due (1/4 of tuition plus $25.00 service charge)

August 29* by noon

2nd payment (1/4 of tuition)

September 19* by 4:30pm

3rd payment (1/4 of tuition)

October 10* by 4:30pm

Final payment (remaining tuition)

November 7* by 4:30pm

*$25.00 late fee will be assessed for each late installment payment.

NOTE: Students paying on the installment plan who must withdraw from classes, please see
Withdrawal Refund Schedule

 

OUTSTANDING FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS

  • A&M-Texarkana Installment Plan is now available ONLINE ONLY.  Students may sign-up for the installment plan by logging into Web for Students.
  • Students are responsible for paying all financial obligations owed to the university when due.  Prior to the end of each semester or term, each student should determine that all accounts are paid.  Non-payment of any accounts will be entered on the student’s record and the Registrar’s Office will be prohibited from registering the student for classes or providing an official A&M-Texarkana transcript until full payment is made.

·         If a student fails to make payment by the specified due dates, the student agrees to pay A&M-Texarkana costs for collection, including any and all late fees, late registration fees, collection fees, attorney fees, court costs, judgment interest and any other allowable charges in accordance with state regulations.  The student agrees to receive phone/cell phone calls from The University or its agents, subcontractors or independent contractors using any type of telephone equipment.  The University reserves the right to report my account to the Credit Bureau.

·         In order for a student to receive their degree and participate in commencement, a student must have completed all degree requirements and have a zero balance on their account by Friday one week prior to the graduation ceremony.

WEB/DISTANCE EDUCATION FEE

A $30 per credit hour fee will be charged to all web based courses, web enhanced courses, face to face courses not taught in the Texarkana city limits or at NTCC, and TTVN courses not taught/received in Texarkana or at NTCC.

 

WAIVED FEES FOR STUDENTS ENROLLED IN

DISTANCE EDUCATION COURSES ONLY

 

Effective Fall 2013, the Distance Education Fee Waiver is no longer available.

 

PARKING PERMITS

All students attending A&M-Texarkana and parking a vehicle on campus are required to purchase a parking permit. Permits may be purchased Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. in the Business Office. Rates are as follows:

·         $25.00 September-August

·         $20.00 January-August

·         $12.00 May-August

·         $5.00 – One Additional Parking Permit

RESIDENCE STATUS

 
Tuition is assessed each student on the basis of residence classification and the number of semester credit hours for which he registers. For additional information regarding establishing residency in Texas, please visit the following website: http://tamut.edu/Admissions/What%20You%20Need%20to%20Know/Texas.html

 

REFUND OF FEES

Refunds for drops or withdrawals are based on the total tuition being paid. Students who drop or withdraw are responsible for any remaining tuition payments.

 

Refund Schedule for Dropped Courses
Refunds are based on total assessed tuition, not total tuition paid. A class dropped by the dates listed below will result in a reduction in total assessed tuition provided the student remains enrolled for the semester. No reduction in fees will be given for courses dropped after the dates listed below:

 

Full Term

September 11

1st 7 week term

August 30

2nd 7 week term

October 23

 

Refunds for courses dropped by a student who later withdraws are calculated according to the withdrawal schedule below. If a scheduled course fails to materialize because it lacks the required number of students, all fees for that course will be refunded.

 

Refund Schedule for Withdrawals
A student who officially withdraws from all courses will receive a refund of fees according to the following schedule. NOTE: Students cannot withdraw from the University through Web for Students. Withdrawals must be submitted to the Registrar’s office by submitting the Drop/Withdrawal form which may be found on the University website at http://tamut.edu/Student-Support/Registrar/Dropping.html

NOTE: The semester's first class day is always the first official day of the semester, not the first day of an individual's class.

 

 

 

Fall Full Term

Until 5:00 pm August 23

100%

August 26-30

80%

September 2-6

70%

September 9-13

50%

September 16-20

25%

September 23 and thereafter

No Refund

1st 7 week Term

Until 5:00 pm August 23

100%

August 26-28

80%

August 29-September 2

50%

September 3 and thereafter

No Refund

2nd 7 week Term

Until 5:00 pm October 16th

100%

October 17-21

80%

October 22-24 

50%

October 25 and thereafter

No Refund

 

Withdrawal refund for students paying in installments are calculated as follows:

100% means you will receive 100% refund of tuition paid
80% means you will receive a refund of 30% (50% paid less 20% owed = 30% refund)
70% means you will receive a refund of 20% (50% paid less 30% owed = 20% refund)
50% means you will not receive a refund and do not owe any additional tuition (50% paid less 50% owed = 0)
25% means you owe an additional 25% of total assessed tuition (50% paid less 75% owed = 25% balance due)

 

FINANCIAL AID REFUNDS

All Financial Aid refund checks will be mailed to the student's current address on file in the Admission's Office unless the student has elected for direct deposit.

 

FINANCIAL AID STUDENTS WHO WITHDRAW FROM ALL CLASSES

Students who have received financial aid that withdraw from A&M-Texarkana on or before the 60% point in the semester must repay a portion of his/her financial aid as specified by the Federal formula. The student is only eligible to maintain the amount of financial aid he/she has earned at the time attendance ceases. The student will be required to repay both the Federal programs and A&M-Texarkana for institutional charges. A&M-Texarkana will use the Federal formula in determining the amount the student must repay. All financial aid students must contact the Financial Aid Office before withdrawing from classes in order to understand the adverse effects of his/her withdrawal.

Financial Aid Students Who Drop Classes
Financial aid awards are based on the student’s enrollment status on the university's official census date report. If the student drops below the number of hours for which he/she was paid on or before the official census date, repayment for some or all of the financial aid may be required. If the student drops after the census date, make-up hours may be required.

Financial Aid Students and Non-Attendance
Students who are awarded financial aid that fail to attend any of his/her classes must repay ALL financial aid he/she received.

Courses abandoned without processing an official drop or withdrawal in the Admissions Office will result in a grade of "F" regardless of the time the student ceases to attend class.

TEACHER CERTIFICATION

Students should apply for the teacher preparation program the first semester of their junior year while taking ED 321. Students will participate in program orientation and receive program admission advising in ED 321. Student must complete an application for admission and meet other requirements no later than Oct. 1/Mar. 1.

 

1. Application for admission is found at https://tamut.tk20.com and includes the following:

·       Certification seeking

·       Teacher Preparation Orientation Quiz

·       Disposition Survey

·       Code of Ethics Reflection Statement

·       Cumulative GPA of 2.70

·       12 content hours in area seeking certification:

    Grades 4-8 or 8-12 certification must have 12 sh from content area (no grade below “C”)

Grades EC-6 must have 12 sh from the list below (no grade below “C”)

·       3 sh from Eng prefix (not Engl 1301 or Engl 1302)

·       3 sh from Math prefix

·       3 sh from Govt or Hist prefix

·       3 sh from Bio, Phys, or Chem prefix

2. Other components student is responsible for submitting by Oct. 1/Mar. 1:

·       Writing Sample – to be completed in ED 321

·       2 Oral Language References from face-to-face instructors from ED 321, ED 311, SPED 410 or RDG 350. Students should formally request reference from instructor via ACE email.

·       Demonstration of College Skills: Passing scores for education students are as follows:

       THEA               Accuplacer

       Reading: 240   Reading Comprehension: 84

       Math: 230         Elementary Algebra: 63

       Writing: 220      Sentence Skills: 80

       Essay: 5           Essay: 5

Please contact the Testing Center to schedule exam dates and times. A&M-Texarkana is a test site for the THEA Quick Test (QT) and Accuplacer. Please see the Test section in this schedule for test dates and times.

 

3. The above requirements will be cleared by teacher certification office. Upon clearance, the student will be contacted to arrange an interview with certification advisor. Student must be cleared by teacher certification office and meet with certification advisor prior to full admission. Students will not be approved for further education coursework unless admitted into teacher preparation program.

 

For more information regarding the Teacher Preparation Program please contact Debbie Hopkins at 903-223-3044 or Debbie.Hopkins@tamut.edu.

 

CAMPUS SECURITY

A&M-Texarkana produces an annual Campus Crime Report that can be viewed on our web site at Campus Safety. The Campus Crime Report provides information on campus security, crime prevention practices, reporting crimes, drug and alcohol information, sexual assaults, and crime statistics showing the amount of crime occurring on campus over the last three-year period. A paper copy of the Campus Crime Report can be obtained by calling the University Police Dept. at (903) 223-3114.

 

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION INFORMATION

The Federal Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act requires institutions of higher education to advise the campus community where law enforcement agency information provided by a State concerning registered sex offenders may be obtained.

In the State of Texas, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the statewide source of information on sex offenders required by law to register. The DPS Sex Offender Registration open record information may be obtained at the Internet location:

https://records.txdps.state.tx.us/DPS_WEB/SorNew/index.aspx

 

COMPUTER LAB ACCESS

Access to computers is available during all university operating hours with a lab assistant available in the open lab during posted hours. A computer account is required to utilize computers both in classes and in the open lab. Computer accounts at A&M-Texarkana are available to all enrolled students for use in university classes and are generated automatically for current students. This account will be valid as long as the student continues to enroll in classes.

A student account includes an e-mail account and a personal directory. Information sheets containing account information are available in all computer labs and in the Technology & Distance Education office. Students may access their e-mail accounts by selecting Current Students on the A&M-Texarkana home page and selecting Email.

NOTE: It is the responsibility of the student to save copies of all data created while using computers in the labs. Lab computers are restored to a default condition each time they are restarted, therefore, student data must be saved on a floppy drive, personal directory ( Network Drive S: ) or class directory (Network Drive U: ). Data saved to Drive C: on lab computers will be erased when the unit is restarted.

If you have questions or comments please contact the Tech/DE office through the web site at
http://tamut.edu/Administration/Information%20Technology/index.html

Procedures
The computer labs are available for students in order to provide an effective and convenient resource to help accomplish academic goals and to promote a quality learning experience at A&M-Texarkana. Therefore, students must adhere to the following:

1.      Password/account information must not be shared with others.

2.      Only current A&M-Texarkana students and authorized personnel are permitted in the computer labs.

3.      Cell phones and pagers must be turned off or placed on vibrate. No phone calls can be taken in the computer lab. Students must leave the lab if necessary to make or answer a call.

4.      Students must be considerate of others and keep the computer labs quiet.

5.      No food, beverages, or tobacco may be consumed in the computer labs.

6.      Contact Technology and Distance Education, ext 3083 for information or to report problems in the computer labs.

STUDENT HOUSING

On-Campus Housing

The University offers a brand new residence hall in Bringle Lake Village.  Rooms are equipped with cable TV and Internet connections, as well as a combination refrigerator/freezer with a microwave unit along with an LCD TV. Bringle Lake Village offers FREE laundry facilities and hall desk to assist students. Hall staff is available to provide students with the assistance they need to succeed socially and academically.

Housing Application

Housing applications are available from the Office of Residence Life or the Office of Admissions. Applications are also available on the Residence life website. A $100 deposit must be submitted with all applications. Applications are processed in order of the date they are received. Contact the Office of Residence Life or visit the website at http://tamut.edu/Student-Life/Bringle%20Lake%20Village/apply.html for more information related to residence halls or the application process.

On-Campus Housing Requirement   

A&M-Texarkana is committed to the success of each student. Due to the fact that the University believes that living on campus plays a significant role in the success of students, the University requires all students to live in University housing, unless the students:

1.      Has reached the age of 21 prior to the first day of class each fall or spring semester, or

2.      Has accumulated 60 or more credit hours by the first day of class each fall or spring semester, or

3.      Is enrolled in fewer than nine credit hours for the fall or spring semester.

Students may file for an exemption to this requirement for the following reasons:

·                     Living with parents (no more than 30 miles from campus).

·                     Married or have a dependent child.

It is recommended that students not arrange to live off campus until their request for exemption has been approved through the Office of Residence Life. Exemptions are granted for one academic year and must be renewed if still applicable. Contact the Office of Residence Life (903)223-1355 or housing @tamut.edu) or visit the website for more information related to the housing requirement.

Meningitis Vaccination Requirement

The 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011, revised existing statutory requirements for higher education students related to vaccination against bacterial meningitis. The revision now requires all entering students to show evidence of an initial bacterial meningitis vaccine or a booster dose during the five-year period preceding, and at least 10 days prior to, the first day of the first semester in which the student initially enrolls at an institution.  An entering student includes a first-time student of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education and includes a transfer student, or a student who previously attended an institution of higher education before January 1, 2012, and who is enrolling in the same or another institution   of higher education following a break in enrollment of at least one fall or spring semester. For more information, please see http://tamut.edu/Admissions/What%20You%20Need%20to%20Know/Bacterial%20Meningitis.html.

Meal Plan Requirement and Options

 

The University offers various meal plans specifically designed to meet the needs of students. All plans offer meals in the University Center. The University requires all students residing on campus to purchase the 11, 13 or 17 meals per week option. Contact the Office of Residence Life or visit the website at http://tamut.edu/Student-Life/Bringle%20Lake%20Village/requirements.html for more information about the meal-plan requirement.

7 meals per week which includes $70 to use at the grill= $960.00

11 meals per week plan which includes $100 to use at the Grill =$ 1,425.00

13 meals per week plan which includes $100 to use at the Grill =$ 1,490.00

17 meals per week plan which includes $50 to use at the Grill =$ 1,600.00

 

The meals themselves will be served in the university center on the first floor.

Monday-Friday

Breakfast (7:30 am – 9:30 am)

Lunch (11:00 am to 1:30 pm)

Dinner (5:00 pm – 7:30 pm)

 

Brunch is available on Saturday and Sunday (11 am – 2pm).

 

The Grill will be available weekdays from 10 am – 7:30 pm and weekends from 11am to 6 pm.

 

If you are interested in a meal plan or housing, please contact Nichole Couch at ncouch@tamut.edu or 903-223-1355.