Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search
 More Links
  • University News
  • News

Watson Elected TETAF Division Chairman

Published: January 27, 2014

(AUSTIN) – Shae Watson, executive director of the Northeast Texas Regional Advisory Council in Texarkana, has been elected chair of the Texas EMS, Trauma & Acute Care Foundation RAC Division. As a division chair, she became a member of the TETAF Board on Jan. 1 for a two-year term.

TETAF is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization formed in 2006 by emergency medical services, trauma and acute-care professionals who wanted to enhance the state’s EMS/trauma/acute-care system statewide. TETAF creates a forum to bring all stakeholders together to discuss issues, ranging from legislative policy and regulatory requirements to better emergency care for specific populations, such as geriatric or pediatric patients. TETAF is a source of timely, relevant information for the trauma/EMS/ambulance communities, and is an advocate, educating lawmakers and regulators at both the state and federal levels about trauma/EMS/ambulance issues. TETAF also provides cutting-edge continuing education on emergency and disaster topics.

TETAF is fortunate to have Shae as the leader of the RAC Division and as a member of its board,” said Dinah Welsh, TETAF chief executive officer. “The trauma regional advisory councils are the foundation of TETAF’s organization and play a critical role in coordinating the delivery of EMS and trauma services across the state.

Watson has served as trauma registrar for the NETAC since 1999, and was named executive director in 2005. She has a bachelor’s of science degree from Texas A&M University - Texarkana and is working on a master’s degree in homeland security at American Public University.

She is a member of the Hickory Hill Baptist Church where she sings in the choir and is a member of the Pastor’s Aid Committee and the Women's Ministry. She also is a member of the Gamma Kappa Zeta Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. in Texarkana and of the Marietta Delight Chapter #173 of the Order of Eastern Star.

NETRAC, or Texas Trauma Service Area F, consists of nine counties, including Bowie, Cass, Delta, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River and Titus in Texas and Miller County in Arkansas. Of the nine hospitals serving Trauma Service Area F, only five have bed capacity exceeding 100.

Titus Regional Medical Center in Mount Pleasant is the lead Level III Designated Trauma Facility for NETRAC. Wadley Regional Medical Center in Texarkana also is a Level III designated trauma facility, and CHRISTUS St. Michael’s Health Center in Texarkana currently is seeking Level III designation. Level IV designated facilities in NETRAC include:

  • CHRISTUS St. Michael Hospital – Atlanta
  • East Texas Medical Center – Clarksville
  • Good Shepherd Medical Center in Linden, and
  • Hopkins County Memorial Hospital in Sulphur Springs

Learn more about TETAF at http://www.tha.org/HealthCareProviders/AboutTHA/PressRoom/HealthInsuranceMark0993.asp, on Twitter @TETAF_news or on Facebook (Texas EMS, Trauma, & Acute Care Foundation).

  • 7101 University Ave
  • Texarkana, TX 75503
  • p: 903.223.3000
  • f: 903.223.3104
.Back to Top