Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search
 More Links
  • University News
  • News

Alumni Association Recognizes Distinguished Alumni and Faculty

Published: October 17, 2017

The Texas A&M University-Texarkana Eagle Lawn was transformed into a country-western corral for the 2017 Eagle Roundup: A Community Celebration of Distinguished Alumni and Faculty on Oct. 12 hosted by the A&M-Texarkana Alumni Association.

Guests enjoyed an evening of great fellowship with alumni and friends of the university, music by Split Decision featuring A&M-Texarkana's own Selena Jefferies, a barbecue dinner by Jake's BBQ, dessert by Silver Spoon and a silent auction with many wonderful items provided by generous donors.

The Alumni Association honored Distinguished Alumni Francine Francis (BAAS '11), LaTonya McElroy (BAAS '09, MBA '14), Rachael Schwartz-Potter (MBA '12) and Ken Reese (BGS '94, MEd '11); Distinguished Faculty Member Dr. Nurul Alam, Professor of Biology; Pioneer Award recipient Laura Spencer (BS '77, MS '78); and Spirit of A&M-Texarkana Award recipient Buddy Allen.

Mark Bledsoe (MSIS ‘89) and Nicole Raley (BAAS ‘04) served as co-chairs of the event.

Mark Missildine, coordinator of alumni relations, expressed appreciation to the following event sponsors:

Platinum Eagle Presenting Sponsor – Farmers Bank &Trust

Platinum Presenting Sponsor – CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System

Gold Celebration Sponsors – Domtar, Humco, JCM Industries and Mayo Manufacturing

Maroon Celebration Sponsors – Bancorp South, Bank of the Ozarks, Bowie Cass County Electric Cooperative, Curt Green and Company, Diamond Bank, Doctors Emily and Tom Cutrer, Guaranty Bank, HealthCARE Express, KW Realty: Chad Raney Team, Smith Blair, Jerry Sparks, TexAmericas Center, Texarkana Emergency Center and Wayne Garrison Charitable Trust

Supporting Sponsors – ALT Magazine, Eagle Distributing, H&N Floral & Gardening, Silver Spoon, Special Events and TownSquare Media

Proceeds from the event benefit student scholarships.

Jill Whittington, Pioneer Award Recipient Laura Spencer and Family, and Mark Missildine

Jill Whittington, Spirit of A&M-Texarkana Award Recipient Buddy Allen and Mark Missildine

Mark Missildine, Distinguished Faculty Member Dr. Nurul Alam and Jill Whittington

Mark Missildine, Distinguished Alumna Francine Francis and Jill Whittington

Jill Whittington, Distinguished Alumna LaTonya McElroy and Mark Missildine

Jill Whittington, Distinguished Alumna Rachael Potter and Mark Missildine

Jill Whittington, Distinguished Alumnus Ken Reese and Mark Missildine

  • 7101 University Ave
  • Texarkana, TX 75503
  • p: 903.223.3000
  • f: 903.223.3104
.Back to Top