Enterprise Risk & Compliance Committee

Enterprise Risk & Compliance Committee

Texas A&M University-Texarkana (TAMUT) operates in a complex, dynamic, and highly regulated environment at both the federal and state levels.  To assist TAMUT’s executive management in its responsibilities of reviewing the university’s operational compliance with applicable legal requirements and sound ethical standards, the Enterprise Risk and Compliance Committee (Compliance Committee) has been established. 

The Compliance Committee is composed of representatives with varying responsibilities within the organization who possess subject matter expertise in various areas of importance to compliance, including finance, student affairs, human resources, safety & security, academic affairs, research, athletics, enrollment management and university advancement. 

Primary Responsibilities

  • Systematically address risk, identify emerging risk, and monitor the effective mitigation of risk
  • Develop a compliance plan in conjunction with the annual Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) process
  • Assist the University in overcoming obstacles to compliance and defining acceptable levels of risk


The Compliance Committee is composed of the following positions:

  • Faculty Senate Representative
  • Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs
  • Director of Athletics
  • Environmental, Health & Safety Manager
  • Chief of Police
  • Clery Coordinator
  • Director of Human Resources
  • Controller
  • Assistant Provost
  • IRB Chair
  • Registrar
  • Director and Coordinator of Budgets
  • Chief Information Officer
  • Communications Manager
  • Director of Financial Aid & Veteran Services
  • Director of University Compliance (Chair)


The Compliance Committee meets quarterly and as needed to address certain issues.