Department of History and Political Science

Department of History and Political Science

Welcome to the Department of History and Political Science

The department of History and Political Science, which also includes Pre-Law, Geography, Social Studies, and International Studies, offers a number of undergraduate degrees, undergraduate minors, certificates, a graduate degree, and graduate certificate. At the undergraduate level, we offer a major in History (including certifications for History 7-12, Social Studies 4-8, and Social Studies 7-12) and a major in Political Science. These majors are foundational for students interested in public service, law school, teaching, working in non-profit organizations, and more! Students learn how to find and critically assess information, effectively present it in written and oral fashion, and gain insights into human behavior. Our graduate degree in History gives a broad understanding of historical topics, while also giving students marketable skills in writing, analysis, researching, and more.

Our Programs

Each of our programs has been updated and curated to meet the needs of today’s learner for tomorrow’s practitioner. More information about our programs, faculty, and degree requirements are available below.  

Undergraduate Majors

Undergraduate Minors

  • History
  • International Studies
  • Political Science
  • Social Studies

Graduate Degrees


  • History 7-12
  • Social Studies 4-8
  • Social Studies 7-12


  • Law and Society
  • Public History (undergraduate)
  • Public History (graduate) 

Engaging beyond the Classroom

The department of History and Political Science has a wide array of engagement opportunities and initiatives. We work with partners in the community to give students opportunities for internships in their areas of interest, and we have to date offered internships in Texas, Arkansas, and Oklahoma. The department also houses the Red River Center for Regional History and Culture, hosts the Texarkana Regional History Day Competition, oversees the Pre-Law society, awards the Bennie Walthall Awards for best papers in History, Constitution Day celebrations, the Bush Fellows program, the Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honors Society, the Phi Alpha Theta National History Honors Society, the Phi Delta Phi Pre-Law Honors Society, and more!

Contact Us:

Texas A&M University-Texarkana
7101 University Avenue, Texarkana, Tx. 75503
(903) 223-3000